arrowright arrowleft

Leadership and Self Review

In ...


Work in Progress - needs to be completed


managing IT

NCET's Managing IT

The Matrix

The early work of NCET in applying the MITs 90 Research Group five levels of development in organisations’ application of ICT, to schools and then to colleges led to the development of a five scale matrix. This matrix identified a number of factors against these five levels ranging from localised use, through co-ordinated and sustainable use, to embedded and innovative use.  Becta developed a number of self-review and planning tools that allow organisations in the schools sector to review their progress, and plan future developments.  The Matrix was a self-evaluation and action planning tool for schools and LEAs, initially as a paper exercise but later as an online tool as part of the National Grid for Learning. This was further developed in conjunction with the National College for School Leadership when they launched in 2000 and made available through their website.  The National College continued to work on the concept and developed the concept of e-confidence.

regional directors

Self Review Framework - Eight Elements

Self Review Framework

At BETT 2005, the Secretary of State for Education announced that the way to 'help all schools use ICT effectively' was through the development of a 'route-map which enables all schools to identify where they are, and shows practical steps they can take'.

Becta was tasked with leading on the development of what was to become the ICT self-review framework. The framework builds on the principles of supported self and peer review, developing leadership capability and capacity, and having a sound support network. Becta developed the self-review framework in collaboration with a range of partners, including: Ofsted, TDA,QCA. NCSL, National Strategies, Specialist Schools and Academies Trust (SSAT, DfES and

The self-review framework covered a number of elements, originally eight (as shown above) but reduced to six:

Leadership and management
Assessment of ICT Capability
Professional development

in 2010. Each has a series of descriptors of different levels of maturity in the use of ICT in schools.

ict mark publication

ICT Mark publication

ICT Mark

In 2002 NAACE, in association with Becta, developed a quality assurance scheme for ICT, known as the NAACEmark. The NAACEmark recognised a school's success in developing and implementing a strategic approach to ICT.
Following on from this and building on from it the self review framework the ICT Mark wasset up as a national accreditation scheme in 2007. Once a school reached a certain standard with the SRF it requested external assessment by an ICT Mark accredited assessor. The assessor confirmed that the schools self-evaluation was accurate and they had achieved the required level and recommended to Becta that accreditation is awarded. The ICT Mark was renewable every three years. About 2,000 schools had been accredited with the ICT Mark by end of 2010 when Becta was closed.